In Search Of Enlightenment

The place for lots of totally unrelated chit chat!

THE WORLD IS GOING TO HELL IN A BUCKET?

Of Course It Is, Can't Believe We've Survived This Long
100%
I've Had My Head Up My Ass Recently, So Everything Is Peachy
No votes

Total votes: 3

Fez
Master of the South Wind
Master of the South Wind

In Search Of Enlightenment

Post by Fez »

In a world that is quickly becoming more concerned than ever before with things of little or no importance, for the last few years I have started to develop an interest in the ideas of other societies and different forms of what might be thought of as designs for life.

Now I'm not looking to find religion - I've had all the dogma and hypocrital spiritual bollacks I can take, but since I studied a short course of philosophy on a module at university I've hungered for a different way of looking at life than my current nihilism and general life's a bitch and then you die attitude.

In this vein then, can I have a few ideas of some texts or individual philosophers to check out - or better still can someone lend me the stuff as my dole money is doing little for my bank balance than cover what is already leaking out of it every month at the moment?

I covered Marx's Das Kapitals and general communist theology at college so that can be held off on, but there's another guy who I believe was German called Neecher (this is a phonetic spelling as every attempt to spell it in German has turned up nothing than too many vowels). Apparently he was a real miserable git so I like him already, but what did he write and how the hell do you spell his name properly?

As far as Freud goes, keep it to yourself - I've seen enough documentaries on him to know he was probably too screwed up himself to ever give a sensible opinion on the human condition - anyone who use's the Oedipus Complex as a cheap excuse to get freaky with his own mother can stay the hell away from me.

Anything else will be hearty appreciated.